Skip to main content

Banned & Challenged Books: Home

Hours


Semester Hours:

Mon - Thu: 7:30 am - 10:00 pm
Fri: 7:30 am - 5:00 pm
Sat: 10:00 am - 4:00 pm
Sun: 12:00pm - 6:00pm

Ask A Librarian

Email a Librarian

Call: 913-469-3871

Chat

Summon

Banned & Challenged Books

Banned Books Week continues more than thirty years of celebrating—and protecting—the freedom to read. This freedom to choose what we read from the fullest array of possibilities is firmly rooted in the First Amendment to the U.S. Constitution, the amendment that guarantees freedom of speech and freedom of the press.

Though these books have never been challenged or banned at JCCC, they have at other schools and libraries across the country.

The Holy Bible
Reasons: religious viewpoint
JCCC Library Location:  BS195, 2nd floor Circulating Collection

 

The Absolutely True Diary of a Part-Time Indian, by Sherman Alexie
Reasons: anti-family, cultural insensitivity, drugs/alcohol/smoking, gambling, offensive language, sex education, sexually explicit, unsuited for age group, violence. Additional reasons: “depictions of bullying”
JCCC Library Location:  PZ7.A382 Ab 2007, 2nd floor Young Adult Collection

 

I Know Why the Caged Bird Sings by Maya Angelou
Reason: sexually explicit
JCCC Library Location: PS3551.N464 Z466 1969, 2nd floor Circulating Collection

 

Fun Home by Alison Bechdel
Reasons: violence and other (“graphic images”)
JCCC Library Location:  PN6727.B3757 Z46 2007b, 2nd floor Young Adult Collection

 

The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins
Reasons: religious viewpoint, unsuited to age group
JCCC Library Location:  PS3603.O4558 H86 2008, 2nd floor Young Adult Collection

 

The Perks of Being a Wallflower by Stephen Chbosky
Reasons: drugs/alcohol/smoking, homosexuality, offensive language, sexually explicit, unsuited for age group. Additional reasons: “date rape and masturbation”
JCCC Library Location:  PZ7.C43 Per 2012, 2nd floor Young Adult Collection

 

The Chocolate War by Robert Cormier
Reasons: nudity, offensive language, sexually explicit, unsuited to age group
JCCC Library Location:  PZ7.C81634 Ch 1974, 2nd floor Young Adult Collection

 

Annie on My Mind by Nancy Garden
Reason:  homosexuality

JCCC Library Location:  PZ7.G165 An 2013,  2nd floor Young Adult Collection

 

Looking for Alaska written by John Green
Reasons: challenged for a sexually explicit scene that may lead a student to “sexual experimentation”
JCCC Library Location:  PZ7.G8233 Lo 2005, 2nd floor Circulating Collection

 

The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time by Mark Haddon
Reasons: offensive language, religious viewpoint, unsuited for age group, and other (“profanity and atheism”)
JCCC Library Location:  PR6058 .A245 C87 2003, 2nd floor Circulating Collection

 

The Kite Runner by Khaled Hosseini
Reasons: offensive language, unsuited to age group, violence
JCCC Library Location: PS3608.O525 K58 2003, 2nd floor Circulating Collection

 

Brave New World by Aldous Huxley
Reasons: insensitivity, offensive language, racism, sexually explicit
JCCC Library Location:  PR6015.U9 B65 2006, 2nd floor Circulating Collection

 

To Kill a Mockingbird by Harper Lee
Reasons: offensive language, racism
JCCC Library Location:  PS3562.E353 T6 1999, 2nd floor Circulating Collection

 

The Giver by Lois Lowry
Reasons:  lewd and violent with themes of suicide, euthanasia and infanticide
JCCC Library Location:  PZ7.L9673 Gi 1993, 2nd floor Circulating Collection

 

Beloved by Toni Morrison
Reasons: sexually explicit, religious viewpoint, violence
JCCC Library Location:  PS3563.O8749 B4 1987, 2nd floor Circulating Collection

 

The Bluest Eye by Toni Morrison
Reasons: sexually explicit, unsuited for age group. Additional reasons: “contains controversial issues”
JCCC Library Location:  PS3563.O8749 B55 2007, 2nd floor Circulating Collection

 

Fallen Angels by Walter Dean Myers 
Reason: drugs, offensive language, racism, sexual content, violence
JCCC Library Location:  PZ7.M992 Fal 2008, 2nd floor Young Adult Collection

 

Captain Underpants (series), by Dav Pilkey
Reasons: offensive language, unsuited for age group, violence
JCCC Library Location:  PZ7.P63123 Ad 2005, 2nd floor Circulating Collection

 

And Tango Makes Three Justin Richardson and Peter Parnell
Reasons: anti-family, homosexuality, political viewpoint, religious viewpoint, unsuited for age group. Additional reasons: “promotes the homosexual agenda”
JCCC Library Location:  PZ10.3.R414 Tan 2005, 2nd floor Circulating Collection

 

Bridge to Terabithia by Katherine Paterson
Reasons: occult/Satanism, offensive language
JCCC Library Location:  PZ7.P273 Br 1977, 2nd floor Circulating Collection

 

Eleanor & Park written by Rainbow Rowell
Reason: challenged for offensive language
JCCC Library Location:  PZ7.R79613 Ele 2013, 2nd floor Young Adult Collection

 

Harry Potter (series), by J.K. Rowling 
Reasons: occult/Satanism
JCCC Library Location:  PZ7.R79835 Har 2008 , 2nd floor Circulating Collection

 

The Catcher in the Rye by J.D. Salinger
Reasons: offensive language, sexually explicit, unsuited to age group
JCCC Library Location:  PS3537.A426 C315 1991, 2nd floor Circulating Collection

 

Persepolis by Marjane Satrapi
Reasons: gambling, offensive language, political viewpoint. Additional reasons: “politically, racially, and socially offensive,” “graphic depictions”
JCCC Library Location:  PN6747.S245 P4713 2003, 2nd floor Young Adult Collection

 

In the Night Kitchen by Maurice Sendak
Reason:  nudity
JCCC Library Location:  PZ7.S47 In 1995, 2nd floor Circulating Collection

 

Bone (series) by Jeff Smith
Reason: political viewpoint, racism, violence
JCCC Library Location:  PN6727.S546 B66 2005, 2nd floor Young Adult Collection

 

Of Mice and Men by John Steinbeck
Reasons: offensive language, racism, violence
JCCC Library Location:  PS3537.T3234 O2 2002, 2nd floor Circulating Collection

 

The Adventures of Huckleberry Finn by Mark Twain
Reason: racism
JCCC Library Location:  PS1305 .A2 2007, 2nd floor Circulating Collection

 

The Color Purple by Alice Walker
Reasons: offensive language, sexually explicit, unsuited to age group
JCCC Library Location:  PS3573.A425 C6 1992, 2nd floor Circulating Collection 

 

The Glass Castle by Jeanette Walls
Reasons: offensive language, sexually explicit
JCCC Library Location:  HV5132 .W35 2009, 2nd floor Circulating Collection 

Quote

"Restriction of free thought and free speech is the most dangerous of all subversions. It is the one un-American act that could most easily defeat us."

-Supreme Court Justice William O. Douglas

Top Reasons for Challenging Books

The top three reasons cited for challenging materials as reported to the Office of Intellectual Freedom are:

  1. the material was considered to be "sexually explicit"
  2. the material contained "offensive language"
  3. the materials was "unsuited to any age group