Contemporary Visual Arts at JCCC

Check these websites for more information.

• www.theartstory.org The Art Story provides information on artists, art movements, and art directions throughout history, including the roots of contemporary art.
• www.askart.com The American Artist’s Bluebook, a directory of 42,000 American artists with geographic affiliation, biographical information, predominant themes and media, magazine references, links to museum websites with the artist’s work in the collection, images, etc.
• www.wwar.com World Wide Arts Resources and absolutearts.com are online sources featuring images of over 80,000 works by over 10,000 contemporary artists from around the world.
• www.artist-info.com The worldwide contemporary art database, information about artists and their exhibitions around the world.
• Gallery websites: most have images of work by the artists they represent, and some have resumes, artists’ statements, and other information.
• Artists’ personal websites: search by “Artist Name” + artist and you might find a personal page with similar information as the gallery site.

The library subscribes to a representative collection of e-journals and magazines with articles about contemporary art, photography, ceramics, design, etc.

Online access to literally tens of thousands of full-text articles relating to contemporary art is available though various databases including:

• Academic OneFile (general database with 8000 peer reviewed articles...covers art, art reviews and artists)
• Lexis-Nexis Academic (more than sixty full-text English language newspapers from all over the world)
• Newsbank (full-text access to the Kansas City Star and several regional newspapers)
• ProQuest Historical New York Times (full-image of the Times from 1851-2001)

• ArtStor is the electronic repository of hundreds of thousands of images from all periods and genres of art.
• Fine Arts and Music Collection contains 10.4 million articles about drama, music, art history, and filmmaking. More than 250 journals are available in full text.
• Grove Art is the electronic version of the respected thirty-four volume Dictionary of Art.
• Rhizome.org is a database connecting art and technology.