Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Admin Sign In 

Diversity in Higher Education 

Books in this guide focus on issues of diversity and multiculturalism in higher education. Although every effort is made to keep this list up-to-date, please remember that our collection may contain resources on this subject not listed in this guide
Last update: Sep 28th, 2009 URL: http://jccc.libguides.com/content.php?pid=68019  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Books on Diversity in the Library             Print Page
  
 

Books on Diversity

  • Bridging the Diversity Divide: Globalization and Reciprocal Empowerment in Higher Education
    Call Number: On Order
    Bridging the Diversity Divide is a practical guide that provides concrete approaches to the creation of a genuinely inclusive campus. Its focus is on research-based strategies that will enable institutions of higher education to assess current practices, create successful action plans, and move beyond structural representation to true reciprocal empowerment. The measurement strategies, organizational learning tools, and best practices included here will assist institutions of higher education in building a flexible repertoire of institutional approaches to reciprocal empowerment and inclusion.
  • Challenges of Multicultural Education: Teaching and Taking Diversity Courses
    Call Number: LC1099.3 .C43 2005
    Based on student and teacher experience in a range of American colleges and universities, this book shows how to meet these challenges and create a truly open and beneficial environment. The authors demonstrate pedagogical strategies and new approaches
  • Creating Inclusive Campus Environments for Cross-Cultural Leaning and Student Engagement
    Call Number: LC1099.3 .C743 2008
    Creating Inclusive Campus Environments for Cross-Cultural Learning and Student Engagement shows how to capitalize in educationally meaningful ways on the diversity that exists on campuses across the nation. It offers forward-thinking strategies and examples of good practice that will reshape the way readers think about approaching the work of multicultural education.
  • Democratic Education in an Age of Difference
    Call Number: LC1091 .D398 1997
    This book addresses the need for colleges and universities to design educational experiences that promote the objectives of a free society while recognizing and embracing difference. The authors detail some of the experiments taking place across American campuses and reveal how each approach fosters the development of democratic sensibility, citizenship skills, and multicultural appreciation.
  • Diversity Across the Curriculum: a Guide for Faculty in Higher Education
    Call Number: LC3727 .D538 2007
    This practical guide will empower even the busiest faculty members to create culturally inclusive courses and learning environments. In a collection of more than 50 vignettes, exceptional teachers from a wide range of academic disciplines—health sciences, humanities, sciences, and social sciences—describe how they actively incorporate diversity into their teaching.
  • Diversity and Motivation: Culturally Resposive Teaching
    Call Number: LC1099.3 .W56 1995 (2009 2nd edition on order)
    Every day college and university faculty ask themselves the question, 'How can we become more effective teachers of a culturally diverse student body?' This book provides the most comprehensive and useful answer that I have ever read. Drawing upon years of experience and research with students from various cultural backgrounds, Wlodkowski and Ginsberg offer faculty a remarkable integration of theory and practice--full of the kinds of insights and strategies they can use today.
  • Diversity in College Classrooms: Practices for Today's Campuses
    Call Number: LC212.42 .D58 2004
    These essays guide teachers to understanding and acknowledging the complexities of today's college students and offer real world solutions. With the varied approaches and purposes of the chapters, diversity -- much like in the real world -- here is broadly defined and not neatly categorized.
  • Doing Diversity in Higher Education: Faculty Lealders Share Challenges and Strategies
    Call Number: LB2332.6 .D65 2009
    Using case studies from universities throughout the nation, Doing Diversity in Higher Education examines the role faculty play in improving diversity on their campuses. The power of professors to enhance diversity has long been underestimated, their initiatives often hidden from view.
  • Educating a New Majority: Transforming America's Educational System for Diversity
    Call Number: LC4091 .R42 1996
    This book provides a comprehensive assessment of how well our educational system--from kindergarten through college--serves disadvantaged minority students, and offers a wealth of ideas for strengthening the entire educational pipeline.
  • Ethnicity in College: Advancing Theory and Improving Diversity Practices on Campus
    Call Number: LC3731 .O78 2009
    This book explores the importance, and construction, of ethnic identity among college students, and how ethnicity interfaces with students’ interactions on campus, and the communities in which they live. Based on qualitative interviews with White, Latina/o, African American and Asian students, it captures both the college context and the individual experiences students have with their ethnicity, through the immediacy of the students’ own voices.
  • Faculty of Color: Teaching in Predominantly White Colleges
    Call Number: LB2332.6 .F33 2006
    This book provides a discussion forum for the experiences of faculty of color teaching in predominantly white institutions. The knowledge and insights gained from the narratives shared across a variety of colleges and universities provide faculty and administrators in higher education with helpful strategies for recruitment and retention. The experiences documented here extend beyond teaching in general to other areas such as administration, institutional climate, mentoring, recruitment, relationships with colleagues and students, and research. More importantly, the chapters offer a variety of recommendations so that predominantly white colleges and universities can continue to ensure that institutions change in substantive ways.
  • Getting Culture: Incorporating Diversity Across the Curriculum
    Call Number: LC1099.3 .G48 2009
    The book is intended for faculty integrating diversity into existing courses, and for anyone creating courses on diversity. The ideas and suggestions in the text can be incorporated into any class that includes a discussion of diversity issues or has a diverse student enrollment. The contributors offer pragmatic and tested ways of overcoming student misconceptions and resistance, and for managing emotional responses that can be aroused by the discussion of diversity. The editors aim to stimulate readers’ thinking and inspire fresh ideas.
  • How to Talk About Hot Topics on Campus: From Polarization to Mroal Conversation
    Call Number: On Order
    How to Talk About Hot Topics on Campus fills a gap in the student services and teaching and learning literature by providing a resource that shows how to construct and carry out difficult conversations from various vantage points in the academy. It offers a theory-to-practice model of conversation for the entire college campus that will enable all constituencies to engage in productive and civil dialogue on the most difficult and controversial social, religious, political, and cultural topics.
  • Making a Real Difference with Diversity: a Guide to Institutional Change
    Call Number: LC1099.4.C2 M35 2007
    Making a Real Difference with Diversity provides readers with a step-by-step guide for implementing, evaluating, and sustaining comprehensive diversity work on campus. Drawn from a six-year diversity initiative involving twenty-eight independent California colleges and universities, the monograph offers a set of promising practices and selected quantitative and qualitative findings pertaining to efforts to enhance college access and success for underrepresented students, increase the presence of underrepresented minority faculty, and strengthen overall institutional functioning regarding diversity.
  • Making Diversity Work on Campus: a Research-based Perspective
    Call Number: LC1099.3 .M54 2005
    The authors discuss recent empirical evidence, gathered on behalf of the University of Michigan Supreme Court defense, demonstrating the educational benefits of diverse learning environments. These are environments that must be intentionally planned and nurtured, where diversity is conceived of as a process toward better learning and not merely an outcome that one can check off a list. Included are numerous suggestions for how to engage diversity in the service of learning, ranging from recruiting a compositionally diverse student body, faculty, and staff to transforming curriculum, co-curriculum, and pedagogy to reflect and support goals for inclusion and excellence.
  • Managing Diversity Flashpoints in Higher Education
    Call Number: LA227.4 .G37 2008
    Through a language that is both clear and accessible, we gain a thorough appreciation of the complexities inherent to these interpersonal clashes of past experiences and current perspectives. Spanning over a century of related literature in the art and skill of teaching and learning and leadership and communication in individuals, groups, organizations, and communities, Managing Diversity Flashpoints in Higher Education deftly interweaves erudite concepts with everyday vignettes. In short, this book is a must read for all who care about recognizing and transcending culturally-rooted microagressions to enable establishing and sustaining, mutually affirming relations with others.
  • More Reasons for Hope: Diversity Matters in Higher Education
    Call Number: LC3727 .M67 2008
    More Reasons for Hope examines the trends in diversity education since an earlier AAC&U monograph published a decade ago called Reasons for Hope. The monograph features a major address by Edgar Beckham that identifies intellectual, structural, and political challenges that need to be addressed in the next generation of diversity work. It charts progress and setbacks and includes more than thirty current exemplary campus diversity programs, policies, and practices from across the country.
  • Multicultural Teaching in the University
    Call Number: LC1099.3 .M86 1993
    This important book includes more than twenty essays by faculty from different disciplines, each articulating the multiple dimensions and components of multicultural teaching. Teachers discuss their own teaching methods and classes in terms of course content, process and discourse, and diversity among faculty and students in the classroom. This volume integrates new scholarship that reflects a more expansive notion of knowledge, and suggests new ways to communicate with diverse populations of students.
  • Multiculturalism in the College Curriculum: A Handbook of Strategies and Resources for Faculty
    Call Number: LB2361.5 .L88 1995
    Emphasizing that diversity in the curriculum is as much about a way of thinking as it is about specific information, Lutzker presents a compendium of innovative and practical classroom strategies and widely available information resources which will enable faculty to increase the multicultural content of their courses without necessarily making major changes in their accustomed methods of teaching. This is a handbook for college faculty in all disciplines who would like to increase the multicultural content of their courses, but have been reluctant to do so for a variety of reasons including an already overloaded syllabus, a lack of background in the subject, uncertainty about student reactions, or lack of time to make substantial changes in an existing syllabus. Administrators anxious to increase diversity in the curriculum of their institutions, but unable to fund large-scale curriculum revision projects, will also find this volume useful.
  • Teaching Diversity: Listening to the Soul. Speaking from the Heart
    Call Number: HF5549.5.M5 G35 1997
    As demographers paint multifaceted portraits of the twenty-first-century workforce, businesses scramble to understand the implications for their organizations, universities struggle to integrate diversity issues into their curricula, and individual instructors face questions of how to teach effectively about this increasingly important topic.Teaching diversity is different from other instruction. Rather than reporting objective themes or imparting detached information on new management techniques, diversity teaching involves questioning our institutions and policies, our definitions of truth and equity, our self-images and our professional roles. It requires a deep personal journey of self-discovery and growth.
  • Teaching for Diversity and Social Justice
    Call Number: LC196.5.U6 T43 2007
    For nearly a decade, Teaching for Diversity and Social Justice has been the definitive sourcebook of theoretical foundations and curricular frameworks for social justice teaching practice. This thoroughly revised second edition continues to provide teachers and facilitators with an accessible pedagogical approach to issues of oppression in classrooms. Building on the groundswell of interest in social justice education, the second edition offers coverage of current issues and controversies while preserving the hands-on format and inclusive content of the original. Teaching for Diversity and Social Justice presents a well-constructed foundation for engaging the complex and often daunting problems of discrimination and inequality in American society. This book includes a CD-ROM with extensive appendices for participant handouts and facilitator preparation.
  • Tolerance and Education: Learning to Live with Diversity and Difference
    Call Number: LC1099.3 .V64 1997
    What is tolerance and how does it differ from prejudice and discrimination? Is tolerance something that can be learned and therefore taught? Through well articulated discussions, Vogt explores these questions and addresses such issues as: can people be prepared to cope with diversity and equality; how much tolerance is wise and what in particular should be tolerated; what are the direct and indirect ways in which attitudes and values are learned; and do different types of tolerance require educational processes unique for each type? Reading this book will persuade you that the route to creating an environment in which diversity is welcomed is through the successful teaching of tolerance.
 
Description

  Loading content... please wait