Journalism

Campus members can get a free digital New York Times subscription via the library. You'll be able to use the website and device apps by following along the link's instructions to validate your account. Staff will need to do this once a year, students once while at JCCC. You will need to use your ‘@stumail.jccc.edu’ or ‘@jccc.edu' email while registering.

This major financial newspaper offers in-depth coverage of national and international finance as well as excellent coverage of hard news. Coverage extends from 1984 to 24 hours ago.

Campus members can get a free digital Wall Street Journal subscription via the library. You'll be able to use the website and device apps by following along the link's instructions to validate your account. Staff will need to do this once a year, students once while at JCCC. You will need to use your ‘@stumail.jccc.edu’ or ‘@jccc.edu' email while registering.

The Washington Post is regarded as one of the leading daily American newspapers. The Post has distinguished itself through its political reporting on the workings of the White House, Congress, and other aspects of the U.S. government.

Campus members can get a free digital Washington Post subscription via the library. Click on the link to get started. You will need to use your ‘@stumail.jccc.edu’ or ‘@jccc.edu' email to register an account. Once you've registered, you will receive an activation email with a link to verify your email and activate your account. You can now use the login credentials you created to login to the WaPost website or app. Student accounts will remain active until graduation, while all other account types will need to be renewed once a year.

404Media is a journalist-founded digital media company exploring the ways technology is shaping–and is shaped by–our world. It is focused on investigative reports, longform features, blogs, and scoops about topics including: hacking, cybersecurity, cybercrime, sex, artificial intelligence, consumer rights, surveillance, privacy, and the democratization of the internet. To sign up for a free subscription to this resource, please click or tap the library's link. Click the Subscribe button in the upper right corner of the page to register for an account. Use your JCCC email address and choose the “Free Plan” option. Once you've completed registration with your JCCC email, 404media will automatically upgrade your account to the full version.

This newspaper covers news from campuses, the latest developments in scholarly research & information technology, personal & professional concerns of people in higher ed, plus reports on the latest government actions that affect colleges.

CQ Magazine reports on Congress, covering legislation, news, and analysis in full text format.

Articles, editorials and reviews published in approximately 100 ethnic and minority newspapers, magazines and journals published in the United States.

Meets the research needs of Spanish-speaking users with a wide range of full-text Spanish and Portuguese-language scholarly journals and magazines both from and about Latin America.

News, legal resources, and business information available in full text format. Includes many international and non-English news sources.

Designed to offer current news pertaining to all branches of the military and government, this database offers a thorough collection of periodicals, academic journals and other content pertinent to the increasing needs of these sites. Military & Government Collection provides full text for nearly 300 journals and periodicals. The database also offers indexing and abstracts for more than 400 journals. Publications covered in this database include Air Force Comptroller, Defence Studies, JFQ: Joint Force Quarterly, Military Technology, Combat Edge, FBI Law Enforcement Bulletin, Foreign Affairs, Naval Forces, and many more. Additionally, many full-text titles are available in native (searchable) PDF, or scanned-in-color.

Rock's Backpages is the world's biggest archive of music journalism and pop writing of the last 60 years. Comprising of over 43,000 articles, the RBP library aggregates the work of over 750 of the finest writers across all popular-music genres from rockabilly to hip hop, via R&B, country and electronica (EDM). The RBP library also includes in over 700 exclusive audio interviews with music legends from Jimi Hendrix to Kate Bush, via Bob Dylan, David Bowie, Joni Mitchell, Michael Jackson and Kurt Cobain. The library features over 7,000 artists, from Elvis Presley to Beyoncé.

Explore more than eight decades of authoritative news summaries and background articles from hundreds of news sources, governments, and organizations.

This resource contains sponsored content, local press releases, and original reporting in and around Johnson County.

Get local business news (also job openings, commercial real estate listings, small business info, etc.) from the online edition of the Kansas City Business Journal. To access, you will need to register for an account using your @jccc.edu or @stumail.jccc.edu email address.
Access a video tutorial on using your free account here.

Find information covering the Kansas City metropolitan area including community issues and events, business, education, government, sports and more from (1991-current). Available on campus or off campus with current MyJCCC ID.

Full color electronic image edition of the Kansas City Star from (3/1/13-Current), with ability to browse the full publication including advertising, photos and graphics. Available on campus or off campus with current MyJCCC ID.

Includes access to past and current issues of the Kansas City Star, Emporia Gazette, Manhattan Mercury, Topeka Capital-Journal, Wichita Eagle and many more newspapers in full-text format. Other papers, such as the Lawrence Journal-World, have partial archives available.

This version of The New York Times includes full-text and full-image articles since 1851 and up to 2019. Digital reproductions of every page and every article from every issue are available in downloadable PDF files.

This collection of newspapers from the 1800s collects resources from different states and populations in the United States.