Research Guides: Composition I : Food Focus: Library Databases

Databases for Food Research Video

Library Reference Databases

The resources in this section are encyclopedias and dictionaries. These are places to look when getting definitions of words or brief overviews on a topic.

Bloomsbury Food Library This link opens in a new window
Providing an extensive collection of food content, Bloomsbury Food Library offers students, researchers, and scholars an unprecedented insight into this diverse field of study.
Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
CREDO is an online reference library, providing access to the full text of hundreds of titles, including dictionaries, bilingual dictionaries, thesauri, encyclopedias, quotations and atlases, plus a wide range of subject-specific titles.

Oxford Companion to Food
Thousands of entries provide coverage on every possible food, its history, cultural significance, and culinary usage.

Oxford English Dictionary This link opens in a new window
The Oxford English Dictionary (OED) is widely regarded as the accepted authority on the English language. It is an unsurpassed guide to the meaning, history, and pronunciation of 600,000 words— past and present—from across the English-speaking world.

Video Guides for the Oxford English Dictionary:

Navigating an entry

Quick search

Advanced search

Understanding the sidebar

Understanding the results page

Other Suggested Databases

Look for book chapters and articles in these databases. Note: The Bloomsbury Food Library contains a mix of brief encyclopedia entries, book chapters and articles.

Bloomsbury Food Library This link opens in a new window
Providing an extensive collection of food content, Bloomsbury Food Library offers students, researchers, and scholars an unprecedented insight into this diverse field of study.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Full text journals in a wide range of humanities, science, and social science disciplines. JSTOR provides access to more than 12 million academic journal articles, books, and primary sources in 75 disciplines.
Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window
Academic OneFile is a large database with broad subject coverage, containing many full-text articles from over 17,000 scholarly journals in numerous disciplines, magazine articles, and news from national and international sources including full-text coverage of the New York Times back to 1995.

Our other research databases are listed below: