Research Guides: Disability Rights: Library Research Resources

Library Databases

These library databases cover a wide array of sources to use as you begin your research on disability and ableism.

Academic OneFile
Academic OneFile is a large database with broad subject coverage, containing many full-text articles from over 17,000 scholarly journals in numerous disciplines, magazine articles, and news from national and international sources including full-text coverage of the New York Times back to 1995.
Academic Search Premier
A large database with broad subject coverage, containing many full-text articles from over 8,000 peer-reviewed journals.
CQ Researcher Online
Provides background information on controversial social and environmental topics. CQ Researcher is noted for its award-winning in-depth, unbiased coverage of health, social trends, criminal justice, international affairs, education, the environment, technology and the economy.
Nursing & Allied Health Premium
Designed for researchers at health-care facilities as well as nursing students, this file provides full-text access to more than 280 periodicals from nursing and health-care publications. Over 270 of the indexed journals also contain images, including charts, photos, and other illustrations. Also included is access to over 800 streaming nursing and allied health videos. Produced by Medcom, these videos are from 3 to 10 minutes in length.
Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center
Features the social issues book series published by Greenhaven Press as well as other reference sources such as overviews, statistics, primary documents, links to websites, and full-text magazine and newspaper articles. A major strength is the pairing of essays representing contrasting views on current social issues.
ProQuest Research Library
Research Library from ProQuest provides access to a wide range of popular academic subjects. The database includes more than 3,820 titles-over 2,550 in full text-from 1971 forward. It features a highly-respected, diversified mix of scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, and newspapers.
Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection
Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection is a comprehensive database covering information concerning topics in emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry & psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational & experimental methods.

Searching Tips

Use Summon to find books on your topic, and for ideas on subjects related to disability try these subject headings;

Mental illness

Blind

HIV or AIDS

Older people

Aging

Deaf or Hard of Hearing

Ableism

Disability studies

American Sign Language

Disabilities

ebooks are available to you 24/7. Just click on the title and click through the links to the book.

Not on campus? You will have to login to the resources with your JCCC email and password.