Research Guides: American Indian Culture & History: Articles

Find Articles! Library Databases

The following databases will be useful as you search for articles by and about American Indians.

Academic OneFile
Academic OneFile is a large database with broad subject coverage, containing many full-text articles from over 8,000 peer-reviewed journals in numerous disciplines, magazine articles, and news from national and international sources including full-text coverage of the New York Times back to 1995.

American Indian History This link opens in a new window
Collections of primary resources, maps, graphs, videos, and other resources covering American Indian history.
American History, 1493-1945 This link opens in a new window
This unique collection documents American History from the earliest settlers to the mid-twentieth century. It is sourced from the Gilder Lehrman Collection, one of the finest archives available for the study of American History.
American West This link opens in a new window
From early topographical sketches and pioneers’ accounts, to photographs of Buffalo Bill and his ‘Wild West’ stars, explore the fact and the fiction of westward expansion in America from the early eighteenth to the mid-twentieth century. Browse a wide range of rare and original documents including printed books, journals, historic maps, broadsides, periodicals, advertisements, photographs, artwork and more.
CINAHL with Full Text This link opens in a new window
CINAHL with Full Text provides full text for the top nursing and allied health literature available and covers a wide range of topics including nursing, biomedicine, health sciences librarianship, alternative/complementary medicine, consumer health and 17 allied health disciplines. This full-text resource features publications from the National League for Nursing and the American Nurses Association. In addition, it provides access to health care books, nursing dissertations, selected conference proceedings, standards of practice, audiovisuals, book chapters and more.

CQ Researcher Online
Periodical covering a wide range of current issues. Full text source.
Ethnic NewsWatch
Articles, editorials and reviews published in approximately 100 ethnic and minority newspapers, magazines and journals published in the United States. Provides multicultural coverage of subjects of interest to African Americans, Hispanics, Latinos, Chicanos, Native Americans, Asian, Jewish, Arab and European Americans.
Gale U.S. History in Context
Full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites about people, events and topics in U.S. History.
Indigenous Histories and Cultures in North America
Explore manuscripts, artwork and rare printed books dating from early European colonization up to photographs and Indigenous newspapers from the mid-twentieth century. Browse through a wide range of rare and original documents from treaties, speeches and diaries, to historic maps and travel journals.

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Full text journals in a wide range of humanities, science, and social science disciplines. JSTOR provides access to more than 12 million academic journal articles, books, and primary sources in 75 disciplines.

National Geographic Magazine Archive
Featuring the complete archive of the magazine to the mid-1990s, National Geographic Magazine Archive, includes every page and every photograph, all fully searchable through an intuitive interface. With standard library features and functionality common to all Gale Digital Archives, National Geographic Magazine Archive is a powerful tool for finding and reading through the 100+ years of impactful articles found in this archive.
Opposing Viewpoints in Context
Features the social issues book series published by Greenhaven Press as well as other reference sources such as overviews, statistics, primary documents, links to websites, and full-text magazine and newspaper articles. A major strength is the pairing of essays representing contrasting views on current social issues.

ProQuest Research Library This link opens in a new window
Research Library from ProQuest provides access to a wide range of popular academic subjects. The database includes more than 3,820 titles-over 2,550 in full text-from 1971 forward. It features a highly-respected, diversified mix of scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, and newspapers.
PsycArticles This link opens in a new window
A database of full-text articles from journals published by the American Psychological Association, the Educational Publishing Foundation, the Canadian Psychological Association, and Hogrefe and Huber. It contains all the material from over 50 top psychology publications.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
The PubMed search system is a freely accessible online database of biomedical journal citations and abstracts created by the U.S. National Library of Medicine (NLM). It provides access to MEDLINE and PREMEDLINE. In addition, for participating journals that are indexed selectively for MEDLINE, PubMed includes all articles from that journal, not just those that are included in MEDLINE. Finally, PubMed also provides access to the molecular biology databases included in NCBI's Entrez retrieval system. Freely available site: no restrictions for access.