Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Addicted to Plastic
Call Number: Non-Circ DVD 363.7 A2247
Addicted To Plastic is a point-of-view style documentary that encompasses three years of filming in 12 countries on 5 continents, including two trips to the middle of the Pacific Ocean where plastic debris accumulates. The film details plastic's path over the last 100 years and provides a wealth of expert interviews on practical and cutting edge solutions to recycling, toxicity and biodegradability. These solutions - which include plastic made from plants - will provide viewers with a new perspective about our future with plastic.
Call Number: DVD 668.4 B6585
Skeptical of her parents' decision to "re-side" their home with vinyl siding (polyvinyl chloride or PVC), Judith Helfand set out with Daniel B. Gold in search of the truth about vinyl.
Burning the Future
Call Number: DVD 622.3 B9667
Coal provides half of America's electricity. Examines the explosive forces that have set in motion a conflict between the coal industry and residents of West Virginia. Faced with toxic ground water, the obliteration of 1.4 million acres of mountains, and a government that appeases industry, the heroes launch a valiant fight to arouse the nation's help in protecting their mountains, saving their families and preserving their way of life.
Buyer Be Fair: The Promise of Product Certification
Call Number: 338.9 B9922
BUYER BE FAIR looks at two major trade goods -- timber and coffee -- to find out how certification works and whether it helps the world's poor, and their lands. Can the lessons from certification of timber, by the Forest Stewardship Council, and coffee, by Fair Trade, be applied to other products?
Call Number: 333.792 D2193
A documentary that follows the trail of plutonium from the Rocky Flats Nuclear Weapons facility in Colorado, to the Diablo Canyon Nuclear Power Plant in California, to Hiroshima and Nagasaki in Japan.
Day After Tomorrow
Call Number: DVD 791.43 D27312
When global warming triggers the onset of a new Ice Age, tornadoes flatten Los Angeles, a tidal wave engulfs New York City and the entire Northern Hemisphere begins to freeze solid. Now, climatologist Jack Hall, his son Sam, and a small band of survivors must ride out the growing super-storm and stay alive in the face of an enemy more powerful and relentless than anything anyone has ever encountered: Mother Nature.
Ecological Footprint: Accounting for Small Planet
Call Number: DVD 304.2 E193
Humans are the most successful species on the planet. But our growing economy is placing unprecedented demand on the planet's limited ecological resources. How can we assure our future well-being?
Flow: For the Love of Water
Call Number: DVD 333.91 F6442
Builds a case against the growing privatization of the world's dwindling fresh water supply with an unflinching focus on politics, pollution, human rights and the emergence of a domineering world water cartel. Interviews with scientists and activists intelligently reveal the rapidly building crisis... begging the question: Can anyone really own water?
Call Number: DVD 338.19 F6864
This DVD lifts the veil on our nation's food industry, exposing how our nation's food supply is now controlled by a handful of corporations that often put profits ahead of consumer health, the livelihood of the American farmer, the safety of workers and our own environment. It reveals surprising - and often shocking truths - about what we eat, how it's produced and who we have become as a nation.
Millennium Goals: Dream or Reality?
Call Number: Non-Circ DVD 362.5 M6463
At the turn of the new millennium, the world looked forward to an end to absolute poverty, avoidable disease, oppression of women and children without education. The United Nations embodied these hopes in a series of eight targets -- the Millennium Development Goals (MDGs).
Oil on Ice
Call Number: DVD 639.9 O395
A documentary connecting the fate of the Arctic National Wildlife Refuge to decisions America makes about energy policy, transportation choices, and other seemingly unrelated matters. Caught in the balance are the culture and livelihood of the Gwich'in people and the migratory wildlife in this fragile ecosystem. Discusses the conflict between the oil industry and environmentalists over the future of the Arctic National Wildlife Refuge.
Call Number: DVD 333.79 P8875
Examines how current energy use affects the earth and people around the world. Suggests ways to create a sustainable future by shifting from fossil fuels to alternative energy sources such as solar, wind, geothermal, and water power. Discusses action steps that individuals can take such as requesting renewable energy from utilities, driving hybrid cars, and buying energy-efficient appliances.
Science of Climatology
Call Number: Streaming Video
Since the Industrial Revolution sparked the widespread burning of fossil fuels, scientists have concerned themselves with the climatic effects of carbon dioxide. This program spotlights milestones in the history of that research as it seeks to understand humankind's impact on Earth's atmosphere.
Silent Killer: The Unfinished Campaign Against Hunger
Call Number: Non-Circ DVD 363.8 S5824
There are still a billion hungry people in the world. Fifteen thousand children -- the equivalent of five times the victims of the World Trade Center bombings -- die each day of hunger. Yet it doesn't have to be this way. We can end hunger -- if we make a commitment to doing so. SILENT KILLER shows how it can be done.
Call Number: DVD 720.4 S9645
This video is an exploration of the elements of architectural design that work towards sustainability. There are sections on planning and design, basic building design, embodied energy and resources in buildings, heating, cooling and ventilation, lighting, and infrastructure.
We Feed the World
Call Number: Non-Circ DVD 363.8 W3613
Close to a billion of the nearly seven billion people on Earth are starving today. But the food we are currently producing could feed 12 billion people. This is a film about food and globalization, fishermen and farmers, the flow of goods and cash flow -- a film about scarcity amid plenty.
Who Killed the Electric Car?
Call Number: DVD 629.22 W6284
Investigates the development and demise of the fuel-efficient, environment-friendly electric car. Examines the Bush administration's role in the car's being peremptory pulled from production, the influence of the automobile industry and oil interests, and implications for the future of sustainable energy in the United States
Streaming Video Collections
60 Minutes: 1997 - 2014
View a collection of news reports from the popular CBS news program, 60 Minutes. From investigative journalism to human interest pieces, 60 Minutes has been a trusted name in news for decades.
Academic Video Online
Cross-search more than 60,000 videos published by Alexander Street Press. You can keyword search every video and jump directly to the section you want to see.
Ethnographic Video Online
Ethnographic Video Online provides a large, comprehensive streaming video resource for the study of human culture and behavior. The collection covers every region of the world and features the work of many of the most influential documentary filmmakers of the 20th century, including interviews, previously unreleased raw footage, field notes, study guides, and more.
This collection of over 25,000 videos addresses a wide variety of academic areas, including the arts and humanities, sciences, criminal justice, history, and archival footage.
Human Rights Studies Online
To help study the important topic of Human Rights, this collection from Alexander Street Press emphasizes the treatment of individuals across different countries and period of times.
A hosted and searchable video clip database for today's online learning environments.
Kanopy Streaming Video
Kanopy is a video streaming solution for colleges offering a "Netflix-like" user experience and a broad selection of over 26,000 documentaries, feature films and training videos from thousands of producers.
Other Online Videos
Sustainability Illustrated offers short engaging videos to learn about and teach the principles of sustainable development.