Use the following search terms and strategies in the Catalog Search to search for graphic novels in the library's collection. Print graphic novels in the Billington Library are shelved in both the regular stacks (Circulating Collection) and in the Young Adult Collection. The library also owns a number of graphic novels in ebook format.
General search terms:
For books/comics by a specific writer or artist, search for the creator's name in the following format: Last name, First name.
The Billington Library's graphic novel collection is largely split between the regular stacks and a special collection called the Young Adult Collection. Items in the Young Adult Collection are marked with a red "YA" sticker and are shelved separately, closer to the reference desk.
The main shelves largely collect standalone graphic novels, including classic graphic novels, as well as books about the history and creation of graphic literature, including comics and graphic novels, and creator biographies. In our catalog, you can tell if an item is shelved here if the call number is followed by "Circulating Book Collection."
The YA collection is the home for many of our Marvel and DC comics, selected graphic novel series, and shorter graphic stories. In our catalog, you can tell if an item is shelved here if the call number is followed by "Young Adult Book Collection."
In addition to the titles available through the library catalog, JCCC students, faculty, and staff have access to the ComicsPlus digital library through the Billington Library's subscription.
