Research Guides: Dental Hygiene Collection Overview: Home

Additional Resources

Anatomy TV - Dental Hygiene
The Dental Hygiene package provides interactive tools and 3D models for dental students.

Visible Body Suite This link opens in a new window
Use the interactive 3D models to explore the mouth and teeth. Users will need to register an account using their JCCC email address to access this resource.

ASP: Dental Videos
Alexander Street Press provides academic videos. This link takes you to films they've attached dental subjects to.
Films on Demand: Dental Videos
Dental videos in Films on Demand, another streaming video resource provided by JCCC.

Welcome

Welcome to the Dental Hygiene Collection Overview Guide. Throughout this guide you'll find links to books, databases and other resources. Questions? Feel free to contact us by using the links and information on this page.

Databases

Cochrane Database of Systemic Reviews
"The leading resource for systematic reviews in health care." - from site.
PubMed Clinical Queries
A tool to assist in searching clinical studies and systematic reviews in PubMed.
Evaluating Internet Health Information
Assesses quality, credibility, and transparency of a health websites.

BrowZine

Current Journals

New Books

Dental Instruments by Linda Bartolomucci Boyd
ISBN: 9780323873901
Publication Date: 2023-05-19
Learn to identify and use more than 300 dental instruments! Dental Instruments: A Pocket Guide, 8th Edition makes it quick and easy for dental assistants and dental hygienists to master the instruments, equipment, and tray setups used in everyday practice. The book includes over 750 photographs and drawings of basic and specialty dental instruments, paired with monographs describing each instrument's characteristics, functions, order of use, and sterilization guidelines.
Darby and Walsh dental hygiene: theory and practice
ISBN: 0323877826
Publication Date: 2025
A dental hygiene foundational text that incorporates clinical competencies, theory, and evidence-based practice in an approachable way.
Clinical Textbook of Dental Hygiene and Therapy by Suzanne Noble (Editor)
ISBN: 0470658371
Publication Date: 2012-05-07
The Clinical Textbook of Dental Hygiene and Therapy is designed as a dedicated companion text for these disciplines and should enable students to streamline their primary reading.
The Dental Assisting Handbook by Robert E. Porter
ISBN: 9781963569698
Publication Date: 2024-08-27
This guide will empower prospective dental assistants with knowledge and confidence as they begin their careers in this valued and cherished profession.