Skip to main content

Embedding Library Resources into Canvas: Sharing Videos

Linking and Embedding Videos in Canvas

You can easily add quality video content to your class in Canvas - even for students off campus. By linking or embedding the videos directly into your Canvas pages, students will be able to access them quickly and easily. Some resources can be directly embedded while others need to be linked for the best performance. You can find out how to add videos to your Canvas class here: 

Instructions on how to Add Library Videos into Canvas

For more information or assistance with the Canvas LMS, please contact the Educational Technology Center

Streaming Video Collections

 

60 Minutes: 1997 - 2014

View a collection of news reports from the popular CBS news program, 60 Minutes. From investigative journalism to human interest pieces, 60 Minutes has been a trusted name in news for decades. 

Academic Video Online

Cross-search more than 60,000 videos published by Alexander Street Press. You can keyword search every video and jump directly to the section you want to see. 

Chalk Dust

Math tutorial videos covering everything from Basic Math all the way up to Calculus.  To access, log in to Canvas with your MyJCCC username and password and register with the MRC (Math Resource Center) on the lower right side.  Follow the instructions to register to get access to instructional videos, calculator instructions, final exam reviews, and live online tutoring. 

This collection of over 25,000 videos addresses a wide variety of academic areas, including the arts and humanities, sciences, criminal justice, history, and archival footage. 

Human Rights Studies Online

To help study the important topic of Human Rights, this collection from Alexander Street Press emphasizes the treatment of individuals across different countries and period of times. 

Intelecom

A hosted and searchable video clip database for today's online learning environments. 

Kanopy Streaming Video

Kanopy is a video streaming solution for colleges offering a "Netflix-like" user experience and a broad selection of over 26,000 documentaries, feature films and training videos from thousands of producers.

Medcom T3

Multi-media nursing education programs. 

Netflix produced documentaries that include public performance rights

To find out which titles are available for educational screenings, go to the "Only On Netflix" section of media.netflix.com. From here, navigate to "All Alphabetical".   Titles that are available for educational screening will display a "Grant Of Permission For Educational Screenings" on their details page.

ProQuest Nursing & Allied Health Source

Designed for researchers at health-care facilities as well as nursing students, this file provides full-text access to more than 280 periodicals from nursing and health-care publications. Over 270 of the indexed journals also contain images, including charts, photos, and other illustrations. Also included is access to over 800 streaming nursing and allied health videos. Produced by Medcom, these videos are from 3 to 10 minutes in length. 

Sign Enhancers - ASL Videos 

This database provides on-demand video resources for American Sign Language instruction and tutoring. You will need a JCCC login to access the material.

 

 

Find Streaming Videos

Search through almost all of the library's streaming video collections from here!

Films on Demand

Films on Demand

This collection of over 25,000 titles addresses a wide variety of academic areas, including the arts and humanities, sciences, criminal justice, history, and archival footage.  

 

Films from this collection can be shown in class and embedded in the Canvas LMS. 

Instructions on how to Embed Films on Demand Videos into Canvas

 

Academic Video Online

Academic Video Online

VAST: Academic Video Online contains more than 60,000 titles across all disciplines, all cross-searchable, making it a one-stop, multidisciplinary solution. Materials are added monthly.

 

Videos from this resource are linkable, but the embed code does not work in the Canvas environment.

Instructions on how to Add Library Videos into Canvas

Kanopy Streaming Video

Kanopy Streaming Video

This is a video streaming solution for colleges offering a "Netflix-like" user experience and a broad selection of over 26,000 documentaries, feature films and training videos from thousands of producers.

Kanopy videos can be linked or embedded into Canvas. Be aware that embedded videos are ONLY viewable on the JCCC Campus. We strongly advise the linking method or using both options. Also be aware that you must add an 's' after the http urls in order for the videos to work.

Instructions on how to Add Library Videos into Canvas